Desperately Seeking Someone

When I was a little kid it was easy to make friends. If someone sat near you at school then odds were you’d become friends. But, now, as an adult, making friends seems impossible. If someone sits next to me I immediately want to scoot away and I assume they are a creep.

I have oodles and oodles of pocket friends. From IGGPPC to my old LJ friends and my other geeks scattered around the globe, I always have someone I can text and talk to. And I have a bunch of friends in Chicago and Indiana who, if I were back in Indiana, would be more than willing to go grab a cup of coffee with him or do some shopping.

But here? Nearly a month after moving here? Nope. No friends. And I realize that I have no idea how to make friends.

I’ve gone to a book club and the women there were lovely. I’ve struck up a conversation with a sweet woman at the store. I know that when I go back to school I’ll be interacting with more people. But right now, in this moment, I’m struggling. I’ve started a Meetup.com group for local geeks and have a meetup set for next month. Scott and I have a date night coming up and I cannot WAIT for that. I know that I’m doing everything I can to make friends and set up my life here, but, man, I wish it were easier.

Maybe I should take out a billboard.

THIRTY-SOMETHING GEEK GIRL LIBERAL SEEKING SAME FOR COFFEE, POLITICAL DISCUSSIONS, DOCTOR WHO VIEWING PARTIES AND A BIT OF SHOPPING.

I miss shopping. It’s such a silly thing to miss because I don’t really need anything right now, but, oh, I miss going to the stores and chatting as I look through the racks. I miss grabbing a bite of lunch. I miss having plans on the weekends.

I know. I know it’ll change soon. I know I’ll start meeting people and be so busy that I won’t be able to remember this point in time. But for now…

Anyone want to come visit?

One thought on “Desperately Seeking Someone

  1. It’s so hard moving somewhere new, but you can do it! In each of my two big moves I’ve had this feeling, like where do I start to make friends? And eventually you find others in the same boat, and that makes it so much better. Give it time, and call your friends when you can.

    Like

Leave a Reply

